-kan vs. -i

Hi,

I am quite confused about the suffixes -kan and -i. Can words with suffix-i be actually replaced with – kan and vice versa? Because I am not sure when to use which suffix. Could you kindly clarify me on this?

No not interchangeable

-kan adds object to the verb
-I locates a subject to an object

X tidur di bilik
X tidurkan Y di bilik

Y naik ke atas meja
Y naiki bas ke sekolah

I think you should not see them as a pair as they are separate suffix Please check the lecture notes as well

Terima kasih

Leave a Reply

